Record Store Daze

Guest Spot: TotalCultZone Presents… That F’King Show

I had the joy of joining my good friend “That F’King Guy” for a podcast about collecting vinyl and our favourite albums. I’ll post it here, alongside his show notes but please check out all his stuff.

Record Store Daze TotalCultZone Presents

Record Store Day? who is it for exactly? casuals, music fans, collectors, flippers or the music executives out to bleed everybody’s wallets dry?

it’s all of the above.

If you love music like we do but are at different levels of appreciation then you can partake in it all if you like but we’d prefer it if you spent the entire year partaking in the act of buying music, as if there’s one thing myself and the lovely Rob Jones can agree on with everyone, it’s that you don’t own music unless you can physically touch it… it doesn’t even need to have any pops and hiss to appreciate it fully.

That right, Me and visiting host Rob Jones talk about music in this algorthym-destroying episode of ThatFKingShow, we specifically talk about record store day which is going on right now… if you downloaded it on release day… or a year after release day…. or… well you get the idea.

What would we like? what do we have? what would we really really really want zig-a-zig ah…

Totalcultzone.com

Chalk Pit Cassete club – Code NW10
MubI.… call me
Batch Coffee – Code: BCC50

Music!

MTV Blast off
Meat Loaf – Bat out of hell (my own personal version)
Avril Lavinge – Complicated (The First Take acoustic)
Dean Peltons peanut bar rap – Community S05E08 “VCR Maintenance and Educational Publishing”)
Emma Bunton – What Took you so long (sorry Bunts)

Some Additional Thoughts on Records

So at time of recording we were a couple of weeks away from Record Store Day which is the initiative started in 2008 to initially to promote local, physical record shops, similar I guess to Comic book day in May…the difference being with Comic Book Day, they give away free comics and that’s how my kids got into some of their favourite comic books.

But with Record Store Day nothing is free and there’s generally a bun fight to get into the shop and for me it has the opposite effect. I’m not going crate digging on Record Store Day, I’m not into it so much that I need to risk a panic attack because everyone is pushing and shoving for a Daft Punk album.

I usually get a funny look or a “we don’t stock that kind of thing” when I enquire about Jason Isbell or Beyonce

Generally I’m not really one for going and digging around for something on the off chance. I’ll maybe have a flick about for 10 minutes or so but I generally know what I’m after and I’m pretty laser focused and a lot of the general record shops aren’t stocking what I’m after anyway. As I say in the podcast, I usually get a funny look or a “we don’t stock that kind of thing” when I enquire about Jason Isbell or Beyonce so as much as it pains me to say it, I buy most of my records online. I’ll look for sellers on Discogs but price wise its rare to get a better deal than one of the super massive online retailers

I was also talking to another pal of mine about records and he was saying he rarely buys anything for more than a tenner and I was like “what shops are you going to because everything is at least ÂŁ20 here” and I think it very quickly becoming a game for those with money to play and it’s really difficult to justify some of the prices, especially for the kid who’s just getting into music, so it’s very much a case of ÂŁ15 each month for all 5 of us to have Apple Music vs ÂŁ20 for a single record…theres only one winner there.

I do think streaming is going to change again in the next 10 years like to and film has where each network has its own streaming app now and like even I’ve started buying more CDs from the charity shops again because the kid likes to have something to hold, having grown up in a mostly digital world, she thinks cassettes are the coolest thing ever so I’ve started the monthly subscription thing where they send you a mixtape of new bands and a little zine thing each month…it’s a tenner a month but you don’t get much for a tenner these days do you apart from a Spotify subscription I guess, 

Here’s a link to a load of independent record shops in the UK, it’s not exhaustive but a good place to start and remember, they’re open all year round not just on Record Store Day

https://www.recordstoreday.co.uk/store-locator/


Discover more from Lone Wolves Collective

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a comment